Responding to Truman State President Darrell Krueger’s call for faith-based organizations to assist Truman students, Ekklesia announced the establishment of the Ekklesia Annual Scholarship which began funding an annual scholarship of $500.00 beginning in academic year 2009-2010.

This scholarship endowment was completed in 2020 by friends and members of the Church of  Christ, 110 Pfeiffer Avenue, Kirksville, MO, and renamed Kirksville Church of Christ Scholarship.

Criteria include: l) active member of a philanthropic organization such as Kirksville Church of Christ and/or its college ministry and 2) preference will be given to students who demonstrate financial need.

Watch for details for online submissions for Foundation Scholarship Applications early in the spring semester.  The deadline for submitting applications is usually March 1.

Additionally, a scholarship was offered through the Heart of America Leadership Training for Christ convention.  Incoming freshman Dane Bossert was awarded this scholarship in 2016 and was renewed in 2017, 2018, and 2019.  This scholarship was extended to Ivan Bossert in 2020.

Dane Bossert

Ivan Bossert

Past recipients of the Ekklesia Scholarship include Andrew Hansen, Nathan Vickers, Landon Anderson, Adam Priest, Emily Mahnken, Carmolee Patt, Sarah Pauley, Jordan Weichelt, Kristin Flannigan, Daniel Hansen, Kaytlin Tippin, Maddie Kusmec, Aidan Roam, Emily Weichelt, and Emily Schulz for 2019.

Emily Weichelt

In 2015 a scholarship honoring Dr. Frank & Josephine Wortham was awarded to ATSU medical student Gabe Collins.  In 2018 Grant Hupp was awarded the scholarship.  In 2020 Evelyn Suter was awarded the scholarship.  This $250.00 scholarship was meant to honor an osteopathic student and wife from Texas who were responsible for establishing the church of Christ in Kirksville in 1941.

Evelyn Suter

Grant Hupp

Total scholarships awarded are now at $12,000.00 since 2009.